close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month Workshop

2018-02-15 16:00:00 2018-02-15 17:00:00 America/New_York Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month Workshop An interactive workshop on teen dating violence South Bowie

Thursday, February 15
4:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2018-02-15 16:00:00 2018-02-15 17:00:00 America/New_York Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month Workshop An interactive workshop on teen dating violence South Bowie

South Bowie

Small Meeting Room

An interactive workshop on teen dating violence

In recognition of Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month in February 2018, the Prince George’s County Family Justice Center will partner with the Prince George’s County Memorial Library System branches for an interactive workshop on teen dating violence. This film-based workshop will open the eyes of teenagers to the red flags and warning signs of relationship abuse.  Escalation, a film created by the One Love Foundation follows a teenage couple through the beginning, blissful stages of their relationship and depicts how unhealthy behaviors can escalate into relationship abuse. Recent statistics show one in three adolescents in the U.S. is a victim of physical, sexual, emotional or verbal abuse from a dating partner, a figure that far exceeds rates of other types of youth violence. Only 33% of teens who were in a violent relationship ever told anyone about the abuse. Unfortunately, this trend is expected to rise, especially among African American and Hispanic teens.

At the conclusion of the film, participants will be given the opportunity to engage in a discussion about the film with a trained panel and moderator in order to discuss the red flags associated with teen dating violence.

AGE GROUP: | Teen (13-18 yrs) |

TAGS: | Special Event |

South Bowie

Phone: (301) 850-0475
Branch manager
Luis Labra

Hours

Today's hours

We're open 1:00PM to 9:00PM

Tomorrow's hours

We're open 10:00AM to 6:00PM

Mon, Aug 13 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Aug 14 1:00PM to 9:00PM
Wed, Aug 15 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Thu, Aug 16 1:00PM to 9:00PM
Fri, Aug 17 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 18 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Aug 19 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch
TTY Tel No. (301) 808-2061

Upcoming events

Tue, Aug 14, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Aug 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Aug 16, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Mon, Aug 20, 10:15am - 10:45am

Mon, Aug 20, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Aug 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Aug 21, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Aug 22, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Aug 23, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Mon, Aug 27, 10:15am - 10:45am

Mon, Aug 27, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Aug 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Aug 28, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Aug 29, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Aug 30, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Mon, Sep 03, 10:15am - 10:45am

Mon, Sep 03, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 04, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Sep 05, 10:15am - 10:45am

Wed, Sep 05, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Sep 06, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Thu, Sep 06, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Mon, Sep 10, 10:15am - 10:45am

Mon, Sep 10, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Sep 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 11, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Sep 12, 10:15am - 10:45am

Wed, Sep 12, 10:30am - 11:00am

Wed, Sep 12, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Sep 13, 7:00pm - 8:30pm